Home / How-Tos / How to Delete Sent Messages on Snapchat

How to Delete Sent Messages on Snapchat

Have you been having problems with How to Delete Sent Messages on Snapchat? I will show you in this article if you keep reading.

Though Snapchat messages are only temporary, still it might make some of us a little more bold with our words than we normally would be. A lot of Snapchat users know that it’s still totally possible to send a message you regret even when you know that it is not permanent, and now, Snap is rolling out new tools to help you wipe away those moments. With the latest Snapchat update, functionality that lets you delete unread messages is starting to roll out.

Snap rolled out a new feature this week that at last allows you to delete Snapchat messages you have sent to other users.

In the past, text messages sent to your Snapchat contacts stayed in the message log until both parties see the chat or if they stayed unopened for 30 days. In group chats, the messages deleted after 24 hours. There was also a choice to clear a whole conversation, but not a single message.

READ ALSO:

Now you can delete a message even before it is seen, which is helpful if you sent one by mistake or have misgivings about what you sent. Here is How to Delete Sent Messages on Snapchat:

  • Open Snapchat
  • Swipe right across the screen to visit the Friends page.
  • Choose the Chat column. You will see a listing of all of the current chats you have.
  • Send a fresh message or pick a message you already sent.
  • To delete the message, tap the message and hold it.
  • Select “Delete.”

Your unwanted message is now deleted. Now users in the one-on-one chat or in a group chat won’t be able to view what you sent. They will, nevertheless, see a notice that you have deleted a line of text.

Snap says that it is trying to make sure it gets rid of the message from Snapchat’s servers & friends’ devices, but warns that this might not always work, like if the person has a poor internet connection or an older version of Snapchat.

It is a good privacy mechanism and appears to meet with some GDPR regulations that give users more control of their data (at least if you want something completely off of Snapchat’s logs and do not want anyone to see it)  but it may possibly not always be foolproof

Check Also

How To Create Whatsapp Group Invitation Link

Group owners can now create Whatsapp Group Invitation Link which allows new members to join …